Skip to content

“We need health services within walking distance. If the surgery closed it would be difficult to get my children there.”

April 12, 2011
Doctor

Stand up for your GP

There are many advantages of being able to walk to my local doctor’s surgery. I know what time I’ll arrive; I won’t be held up by a traffic jam or trying to find a parking space. I’m able to think about what I’m going to say to the doctor as I’m walking along. After I’ve left the doctor, I can walk to the chemist to get my prescription. If the doctor or nurse measures my blood pressure, I know it’ll be a more natural reading: if I’d have driven my blood pressure would be raised due to the stress of driving!

Local surgeries are vital. That’s why they are close to our hearts. Villagers in Wrington, Bristol recently staged a protest against proposals to close the village doctors’ surgery and move it to Langford, a neighbouring town. If the move goes ahead it will mean patients, many of whom are elderly, will have to travel three miles to see their doctor.

A local mum, Charlotte Tyler, expressed her concern. “If the surgery closed it would be difficult to get my children there. Wrington is a big village, and it is expanding and we need health services within walking distance.”

People really care about walking to their local GP’s surgery. That’s why the GP is this week is our neighbourhood hero.

Are you concerned about living in a neighbourhood where you can walk easily to essential services? Join the campaign at www.livingstreets.org.uk/heroes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

